Guerrero earns second-team All-Region honors from D2CCA

Guerrero earns second-team All-Region honors from D2CCA

MILLEDGEVILLE, Ga. --- Tusculum sophomore outfielder Delaney Guerrero has added to her list of postseason honors by being selected to the Division II Conference Commissioners Association Softball All-Southeast Region team.

Guerrero is a second-team selection by D2CCA after being named second-team All-Region by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association last week. She is the fourth Tusculum player to be named All-Region by D2CCA and its predecessor, Daktronics, since the Pioneers joined Division II for the 1999 season, and the first since Kaytlin Stroinski in 2014.

Guerrero was named first-team All-South Atlantic Conference after finishing fourth in the league in batting average with a .421 mark, and tied for fifth in the league with 67 hits. Guerrero had 12 doubles, two triples and two home runs and drove in 28 runs, while finishing with a .440 on-base percentage and a .560 slugging percentage. The Pioneers finished 24-25 overall and 6-14 in the SAC during the 2018 season.

The Elgin, South Carolina native started all 49 games for the Pioneers and led the team with 21 multi-hit games, including six three-hit games. She hit .397 in 20 conference games, and committed just two errors in 73 chances in her first season as Tusculum's starting rightfielder.

In two seasons at Tusculum, Guerrero is a .356 hitter with 103 hits, two home runs and 40 runs batted in, along with 53 runs scored and six stolen bases.

The D2CCA All-America programs honor student-athletes in Division II athletic programs. The mission of the CCA is to encourage and promote Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The teams are voted on by the members of D2SIDA, the NCAA Division II Sports Information Directors Association.

2018 D2CCA Softball All-Southeast Region
First Team
C-Shelby Hammontree North Georgia
1B-Elizabeth Purdue, Columbus State
2B-Ty-Kella Goins, Lincoln Memorial
3B-Jamie Johnson, UNC Pembroke
SS-Calli Starr, Columbus State
OF-Hannah Riddle, King
OF-Erin Boone, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF-Holland Coursey, Georgia College
DP-Haley Simonds, Newberry
UT-Lacie Rinus, Carson-Newman
UT/non-P-Abby Fiessinger, Carson-Newman
P-Kylee Smith, North Georgia
P-Amber Johns, North Georgia
P-Emily Kenley, Lenoir-Rhyne

Second Team
C-Cailah Niles, Anderson
1B-Maria Williamson, Coker
2B-Ashley Parnell, Limestone
3B-Jenna Burnett, King
SS-Natalie Willis, Newberry
OF-Kia Smith, Columbus State
OF-Delaney Guerrero, Tusculum
OF-Hannah Harrison, Young Harris
DP-Alishia Frierson, North Georgia
UT-Aubrey Reep, Wingate
UT/non-P-Kelsie Hocutt, Lincoln Memorial
P-Courtney Smith, Limestone
P-Amanda Coffrin, North Greenville
P-Christine Carver, Coker

Pitcher of the Year: Kylee Smith, North Georgia
Player of the Year: Elizabeth Purdue, Columbus State