Tomassoni becomes four-time All-SAC golfer

Tomassoni becomes four-time All-SAC golfer

ROCK HILL, S.C. --- Tusculum University's Katie Tomassoni has been named to the 2019 All-South Atlantic Conference Women's Golf Team announced league officials on Friday.

Tomassoni garnered All-SAC second team accolades as the Mason, Ohio senior becomes only the third TU women's golfer to earn All-SAC honors on four occasions joining former Pioneer greats Amanda Bowen (2003-2007) and Ciara Rattana (2014-2018) as the only four-time All-League recipients.

Tomassoni leads the team with her 75.59 scoring average this season where she has accounted for eight top-20 finishes including five times in the top-10 and four top-five performances.  Her seasonal stroke average is on-pace to break the TU single-season record of 76.71 posted by then 2012 SAC Freshman of the Year Emee Herbert.

Tomassoni has captured medalist honors twice this year winning the Bob Dibble Classic and the Buccaneer Spring Classic.  She finished runner-up at the Mars Hill Fall Invitational and placed fourth at this week's Agnes McAmis Memorial, earning All-Tournament honors in both.

She has a 77.72 career stroke average which is currently the third lowest in program history.  Her four career medalist victories are the second-most in TU history and just one win off the school record five posted by Jillian Corum from 2009-2013.

Tomassoni is also an outstanding student in the classroom where she is a four-time selection to the SAC Commissioner's Honor Roll and the Tusculum Athletic Director's Roll.  She was named the 2018 SAC Women's Golf Scholar Athlete of the Year and is a three-time WBCA All-America Scholar.

Tomassoni and the Pioneers will be competing in the SAC Women's Golf Championship this weekend in Hickory, North Carolina beginning with Sunday's opening round. The three-day, 54-hole championship is being played at the Lake Hickory Country Club this Sunday, Monday and Tuesday.


2019 All-South Atlantic Conference Women's Golf Team
First Team
Mind Puangcharoen, Wingate
Lise Malherbe, Lincoln Memorial
Abbey Hartsell, Lenoir-Rhyne
Tiffany Elam, Anderson
Kaley Barts, Catawba

Second Team
Maeve Cummins, Carson-Newman
Kate Hill, Anderson
Katie Tomassoni, Tusculum
Alyssa Campbell, Coker
Victoria Hall, Anderson
Megan Robb, Lenoir-Rhyne

Honorable Mention
Anna Freeman, Anderson
Taylor Lance, Newberry
Nabila Inak, Newberry
Sarah Coltrane, Catawba

SAC Freshman of the Year: Maeve Cummins, Carson-Newman
SAC Golfer of the Year: Mind Puangcharoen, Wingate
SAC Coach of the Year: Danny Neal, Anderson