Ballmert, Ellenburg earn All-SAC honors

Ballmert, Ellenburg earn All-SAC honors

ROCK HILL, S.C. --- Two members of the Tusculum University women's soccer team have been selected to the All-South Atlantic Conference Team, as voted on by the conference's head coaches and released Thursday.

Junior midfielder Sonja Ballmert was a second-team selection, and sophomore midfielder Kenzie Ellenburg was an honorable mention choice for the Pioneers. They helped Tusculum to an 8-7-3 overall record and sixth place in the SAC with a 5-3-2 league mark.

Ballmert was named All-Conference for the third time in her career after being an honorable mention selection in both 2016 and 2017. The Frankfurt, Germany native was the Pioneers' leading scorer for the second consecutive season, with four goals and four assists for 12 points.

Ballmert, who started all 18 matches, had three goals and three assists in 10 conference contests. She scored the winning goal in a 3-2 win over 23rd-ranked Nova Southeastern in the season opener on August 31, and in a 3-1 victory over Catawba on Sept. 29. Ballmert had at least a goal or an assist in eight of the Pioneers' 18 matches, in which the team had a record of 5-2-1.

Ballmert has appeared in 54 matches in her Tusculum career and has recorded 11 goals and 11 assists for 33 points, with six of her 11 goals ending up as game-winners.

Ellenburg, a preseason second-team All-SAC selection, had a goal and an assist for the Pioneers this season, both coming in Tusculum's 3-2 season-opening win over Nova Southeastern. She started all 18 matches on defense and helped the Pioneers to four shutouts, while allowing just 13 goals in 10 conference matches.

The Greeneville High School graduate has appeared in 34 matches in two seasons for the Pioneers, making 31 starts.

Tusculum senior goalkeeper Hannah Graham was also honored with the SAC statistical championship for save percentage. Graham had an .820 save percentage during the regular season for the Pioneers, and had a 4-4-2 overall record in 10 starts with a 1.15 goals against average.

Graham, a native of Peachtree City, Georgia, finished her Tusculum career with a 1.16 goals against average which is seventh-best in program history. Her .812 career save percentage including 134 saves which ranks ninth in school history, and her eight career shutouts are tied for sixth all-time at Tusculum.

SAC champion Carson-Newman swept the Player of the Year awards, with Magda Mosengo earning Offensive Player of the Year honors and Averi Williams taking the Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Lincoln Memorial's Jessica Cravero was Freshman of the Year, and Railsplitter coach Sean Fraser was named by his peers as Coach of the Year.

2018 South Atlantic Conference
Women's Soccer All-Conference
First Team
F – Magda Mosengo, Carson-Newman
F – Abbie Brown, Lenoir-Rhyne
F – Jessica Cravero, Lincoln Memorial
F – Itzel Ballesteros, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Charlotte Ring, Queens
MF – Jovana Sanchez, Catawba
MF – Aqsa Mushtaq, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Mariana Diaz, Lincoln Memorial
D – Averi Williams, Carson-Newman
D – Alex Brandan, Carson-Newman
D – Claire Neibergall, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Alyssa Berry, Lincoln Memorial
GK – Jackie Burns, Carson-Newman

Second Team
F – Lulu Phan, Queens
F - Sanne Martinsen, Mars Hill
F – Daphne Heyaime, Newberry
F – Emilee Futrell, Carson-Newman
MF – Catarina Realista, Carson-Newman
MF – Maria Hernandez, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Sonja Ballmert, Tusculum
MF – Taylor Rios, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Christina Shimshock, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Jente Kuper, Carson-Newman
D – Leanne Bryant, Queens
D – Fabienne Loetscher, Lincoln Memorial
GK – Abby Helm, Anderson

Honorable Mention
F – Kirsten Armetta, Anderson
F – McKenna Delong, Wingate
MF – Abigael McGarel, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Bethany Morgan, Anderson
MF – Melanie Maddox, Anderson
MF – Gabby Fleischli, Wingate
D – Katie Beck, Catawba
D – Katie Webb, Catawba
D – Maggie Black, Anderson
D – Kenzie Ellenburg, Tusculum
GK – Shelby Thompson, Catawba

Offensive Player of the Year: Magda Mosengo, Carson-Newman
Defensive Player of the Year: Averi Williams, Carson-Newman
Freshman of the Year: Jessica Cravero, Lincoln Memorial
Coach of the Year: Sean Fraser, Lincoln Memorial
Fair Play Award: Lenoir-Rhyne & Newberry