Tusculum volleyball earns AVCA Team Academic Award

Tusculum volleyball earns AVCA Team Academic Award

LEXINGTON, Ky. --- The Tusculum College volleyball team was named one of 116 NCAA Division II programs to earn the American Volleyball Coaches Association's Team Academic Award.

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-1993 academic year, honors volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

The Pioneers posted a 3.34 team GPA at the end of the 2016-2017 academic year, which is the sixth highest amongst Tusculum's intercollegiate sports.

Tusculum was also one of eight South Atlantic Conference programs that earned the AVCA Team Academic Award this year, along with Anderson, Coker, Lenoir-Rhyne, Lincoln Memorial, Mars Hill, Newberry and Wingate.

Tusculum will begin the 2017 season on Sep. 1-2 as the Pioneers travel to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida for the Nova Southeastern Shark Invitational.

AVCA/NCAA Division II Team Academic Awards
Adams State University
Adelphi University
Anderson University (SC)
Angelo State University
Arkansas Tech University
Ashland University
Augustana University (SD)
Azusa Pacific University
Barry University
Barton College
Bentley University
Black Hills State University
Cal State Univ-Stanislaus
Caldwell University
California Baptist University
California State University - East Bay
Cedarville University
Central Washington University
Chadron State College
Chaminade University of Honolulu
Chestnut Hill College
Clarion University
Coker College
Colorado Christian University
Colorado Mesa University
Colorado State University - Pueblo
Concordia University - St. Paul
Daemen College
Drury University
Eastern New Mexico University
Emporia State University
Fairmont State University
Florida Southern College
Florida Tech
Fort Hays State University
Fort Lewis College
Franklin Pierce University
Gannon University
Georgia College
Harding University
Holy Family University
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Lee University (TN)
Lees-McRae College
Lenoir-Rhyne University
Lewis University
Limestone College
Lincoln Memorial University
Lynn University
Mars Hill University
McKendree University
Mercyhurst University
Metropolitan State University of Denver
Michigan Tech University
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Missouri S&T
Missouri Southern State University
Missouri Western State University
New York Inst of Tech
Newberry College
North Greenville University
Northern Michigan University
Northern State University
Northwest Missouri State University
Northwest Nazarene University
Ohio Dominican University
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
Palm Beach Atlantic University
Pittsburg State University
Point Loma University
Regis University
Rockhurst University
Rollins College
Saint Leo University
San Francisco State University
Seattle Pacific University
Seton Hill University
Shorter University
Slippery Rock University
Southern Connecticut State University
Southern New Hampshire University
Southwest Minnesota State University
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
St Cloud State University
St. Edward's University
St. Mary's University (TX)
Stonehill College
Texas Woman's University
The College of Saint Rose
Tusculum College
University of Alabama-Huntsville
University of Arkansas-Monticello
University of Central Missouri
University of Central Oklahoma
University of Charleston
University of Colorado - Colorado Springs
University of Findlay
University of Hawaii - Hilo
University of Illinois at Springfield
University of Indianapolis
University of Minnesota Duluth
University of Missouri-St Louis
University of Montevallo
University of Sioux Falls
University of Tampa
University of West Alabama
Upper Iowa University
Urbana University
Ursuline College
Wayne State College (Neb.)
Wayne State University (Mich.)
West Chester University
West Liberty University
Westminster College (UT)
Wheeling Jesuit University
William Jewell College
Wingate University
Winona State University