Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
The Official home of tusculum athletics

Martin becomes consensus All-American with ABCA honors

Martin becomes consensus All-American with ABCA honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. --- Tusculum University second baseman Daulton Martin makes it a clean sweep by being named to the 2019 American Baseball Coaches Association/Rawlings NCAA Division II All-America first team.

Martin becomes the third consensus All-American in program history joining Maikol Gonzalez (2008) and Placido Torres (2016) as the only players to sweep accolades from the ABCA, National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and Division II Conference Commissioners Association.  Of the trio, Martin and Torres are the only players to garner All-America first team honors from all three organizations.

Martin, a junior from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, is a three-time All-South Atlantic Conference selection and led Tusculum with his .362 batting average while also leading the league with his 22 doubles (T6th in NCAA II) and 52 walks (3rd in NCAA II).  He also led Tusculum with his eight home runs, 112 totals bases, .633 slugging percentage, .518 on-base percentage (18th in NCAA II) and five sacrifice flies.

Martin accounted for 15 multiple-hit games while also going 17-of-22 in stolen bases and was hit by pitch 11 times. 

In 2018, Martin garnered All-America honors by the NCBWA (2nd Team) and the American Baseball Coaches Association (3rd Team).

In his 153-game career with the Pioneers, Martin is batting .384 which is the ninth-highest average in school history.  He is also listed throughout the TU record book where his 54 career doubles are tied for the most in program history.  He is fifth all-time in hits (214), fifth in triples (11), seventh in RBI (129), third in total bases (338), second in walks (105), fifth in hit by pitch (26) and second in career on-base percentage (.498).

Martin is majoring in business management and is a member of the SAC Commissioner's Honor Roll and the Tusculum Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

Tusculum finished the season with a 30-21 overall record and tied for third in the South Atlantic Conference. It was TU's 16th season with 30 or more wins in the last 17 years.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. The ABCA's over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.


2019 ABCA Division II All-America Team
First Team
C – Matt Malkin, MSU Denver
1B – Andrew Czech, Walsh
2B – Daulton Martin, Tusculum
3B – Osvaldo Tovalin, Azusa Pacific
SS – Utah Jones, North Greenville
INF – Jared Melone, West Chester
OF – Josh Elvir, Angelo State
OF – Erik Webb, Central Missouri
OF – Trevor Kehe, Colorado School of Mines
DH – Connor Durden, USC Aiken
P – Joshua Loeschorn, LIU Post
P – Ethan Elliott, Lincoln Memorial
P – Dillon McCollough, Eckerd
P – Joe Corbett, West Texas A&M
RP – Chris Slavik, Ashland

Second Team
C – Chris Gambert, Bellarmine
1B – Kyle Kaufman, West Texas A&M
2B – Justin Decker, Dominican
3B – Dakota Popham, Colorado St.-Pueblo
SS – Macy Holdsworth, Indianapolis
INF – Eddie Nevins, Wilmington (Del.)
OF – Mason Janvrin, Central Missouri
OF – Yorvis Torrealba, Tampa
OF – Jordan Hart, Minnesota State
DH – Steven Ring, Hillsdale
P – Hunter Riggins, Delta State
P – Tucker Burgess, North Greenville
P – Hunter Brown, Wayne State (Mich.)
P – Ryan Johnson, Lubbock Christian
RP – Will Dixon, Colorado Mesa

Third Team
C – John Michael Faile, North Greenville
1B – Daniel Cipriano, Montana State Billings
2B – Matt Clarke, Colorado-Colorado Springs
3B – Jacob Buchberger, Davenport
SS – Joshua Colon, Dominican
INF – Caleb Sneed, Southwest Baptist
OF – EJ Cumbo, NYIT
OF – Matt Higgins, Bellarmine
OF – Hill Alexander, Lubbock Christian
OF – Brenton Doyle, Shepherd
DH – Jake Engel, Dixie State
P – Matt Minnick, Mercyhurst
P – Brandon Weed, UC San Diego
P – Zach Parish, Missouri Southern State
P – Andrew Dean, Illinois Springfield
P – Michael Giacone, North Greenville
RP – Jeffrey Praml, Southern New Hampshire
RP – Quinton Driggers, Newberry






Privacy Policy